I hate to be the bearer of bad news, but this weekend my little niece, Haniya, told me that her friends had called Frito-Lay and found out that Doritos have pork in them. Well, I was shocked and a little skeptical. However, when I called the company, they confirmed that their cheese products were not halal -- they actually used the term 'halal', which I found impressive even though the disclosure was disconcerting. She said they use enzymes in making the cheese for their cheetos and doritos that come from pork. I asked when they started doing this, and she said the last 2 years they became aware of it. I wanted to start a petition requesting them to find alternatives, but she said it would be best for individuals to call, because each call is registered. So, if you are going to miss cheetos and doritos as much as I am, please call Frito-Lay at 1-800-352-4477, Monday - Friday, 9:00am-4:30pm.Also, pass on this info. to whomever you know.
I have just called the Frito-Lay company and spoke with one of the representatives personally. I have confirmed that they do in fact add porcine (pork) enzymes to the cheese in some of the cheetos and doritos products. I recommend that you also call and tell them that they can gain a larger consumer population from the Jewish and Muslim communities if they make sure to keep their products pork free.
Please visit their website for further info: Seasoned Products Made Without Porcine Enzymes
--Pure (This is myself)