Welcome guest, is this your first visit? Click the "Create Account" button now to join.

  • Amused
  • Angry
  • Annoyed
  • Awesome
  • Bemused
  • Cocky
  • Cool
  • Crazy
  • Crying
  • Depressed
  • Down
  • Embarrased
  • Enraged
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast
    Results 81 to 100 of 124
    1. #1
      Soldier Through It! Array جوري's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Jul 2006
      Location
      من ارض الكنانة
      Gender
      Female
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      27,787
      Threads
      1260
      Reputation
      246356
      Rep Power
      210
      Likes (Given)
      5578
      Likes (Received)
      6254

      The Medical student Review


      I don't know how many med students there are on board, or how useful this review will be for you.. I am a firm believer in slow and consistent than an intellectual enema two days before the exam where once released never again to be regained.. So what I plan to do here, is share some things I feel are important..

      In my pre-clinical years, I was president of the pharmacology club, and I enjoyed teaching it and exchanging ideas with others.. so if you have your own forte, quirks mnemonics that you'd like to share we can make a useful compendium..

      I am only going to focus here on pharmacology and diagnostic testings.. so every day I'll give you five of each..

      I am not going to start in any particular order but once in a section, I plan to complete it.. this will be just the high yield..


      __________________________________________________ ___________

      Oncology diagnostic testing
      _____________
      AFP (what disease is associated with it, and when do you answer this for a question?)
      AFP is associated with the development of
      1-hepatocellular ca.
      2-ovarian cancer
      3-non-seminomatous germ cell tumors
      Answer AFP when you see a patient with alcoholic cirrhosis or chronic hepatitis B or V. AFP together with radiological imaging is used to screen for hepatocellular ca

      ____________________________________________
      CEA
      1-A protein elevated in a variety of cancers including colorectal cancer
      2-serum CEA have a prognostic value in pts with newely diagnosed CRC. Those with higher levels have worse prognosis.
      3-CEA level to monitor in colon cancer in pts after a surgical resection, it determines the presence of persistent, recurrent or metastatic disease

      __________________________________________________ ___________
      Colposcopy
      Colposcopy is the direct visualization of the cervix, by use of a magnifying scope with a lamp
      2-The transition zone must be visualized to ensure an adequate colposcopy. The border between squamous and columnar epithelium
      3-a colposcopy is the answer for a pt with an abnromal pap
      Atypical squams can't exclude high grade lesion ASC-II
      low grade squamous intraepithelial lesions LSIL
      high grade intraepithelial lesions HSIL
      Atypical sqams of undetermined significance ASCUS if HPV DNA testing is positive
      __________________________________________________ ___________
      Estrogen and progesterone receptors
      Should be done on all pts with breast cancer, in order to determine who should receive hormone therapy
      2-Therapy with either tamoxifen or raloxifene should be added to any pt. with positive receptors. This is either for estrogen or progesterone positivity alone or in combination. The response to tamoxifen is better if both receptors are positive
      __________________________________________________ ____
      Mammogram
      screening should begin at age 40 and should be performed every 1~2 years, screening at age 50 should be yearly
      2-when mammogram shows abnormalities, a core biopsy including sentinel lymph node biopsy is the next best step. carcinomas of the breast are associated with clustered polymorphic microcalcifications.
      3-screening lowers mortality most after age 50 and the dec is greater than that of a colonscopy or a pap smear
      __________________________________________________ ________________

      Now pharm
      _____________

      will start with infectious disease because it is the longest chunk
      Acyclovir/valcyclovir/famiciclovir

      all the above are the correct answer for
      Herpes simplex including, genital, cutaneous, orolabial
      for Herpes Encephalitis (acyclovir) IV form only in a hospital setting
      Varicella zoster
      shingles: Herpes zoster or reactivation
      Bell's palsy

      the above meds work by inhibition of thymidine kinase
      -most common adverse effects are nephrotoxicity presumably from precipitation of the meds in the kidney tubule, sx of neurological toxicity in the kidney tubule, sx of neurological tox, such as confusion, tremors and hallucination occur rarely
      __________________________________________________ __
      Rifaximin
      used to treat travelers' diarrhea such as that from E.coli, it isn't used for invasive diarrhea. an associated fever and bloody diarrhea indicate and invasive pathogen, such as campylobacter. When fever and bloody diarrhea are described, ciprofloxacin is the best answer.

      rifa is a nonabsorbed version of the rifamycin antibiotic, it inhibits ribosomal RNA production of essential proteins
      There are no major side effects since it isn't absorbed from the GI tract. it doesn't cause C.Diff, and may in fact treat it.
      _________________________________________________
      Daptomycin and Linezolid

      they are both used for gram +ve organisms such as MRSA, streptococci and vanc resistant enterococci. Linezolid is the only oral antibiotic for MRSA. They can both be used for Vanc resistant organisms .

      Liezolid is an oxazolidinone and inhibits protein synthesis at the ribosome. Daptomycin is a cyclic lipopeptide and disrupts cell membrane they are both unique classes of drugs

      Linezolid commonly causes thrombocytopenia, and is a MAO inhibitor, avoid tyramine foods. Dapto caused CPK on liver functiion tests to be elevated!!
      __________________________________________________ _____________
      Tigecycline
      an extremely broad spectrum anti-biotic that covrers MRSA, staph aureus, and well as gram negative bacilli. Tigecycline is the answer for complicated hospital of ICU acquired infections, tigecycline alone is equivalent to vanc and aztreonam in combination, it is also active against resistant enterococci and PCN resistant penumococcus

      tigecycline is a glyclycyline antibiotic that binds to the ribosome and inhibits protein synthesis, it is unique that it covers staph, strep, gram negatives, anerobes and organisms resistant to vanc
      tigecycline is hepatotoxic , caused nausea and diarrhea
      __________________________________________________ ________

      Polymyxin B (PMB) and colistin
      useful for conjunctivitis, infections of the skin, and otitis externa, also correct for multi drug resistant gram negative bacilli, that cause ventilator associated pneumonia and sepsis from pseudomonas or acinetobacter.

      works by disrupting phospholipids in the cell wall membrane
      Polymyxin B (PMB) and colistin are very toxic to the kidney and nerves and is limited to topical applications of the skin and ear, they are also used for multi drug resistant gram negative bacilli when there are no other therapeutic options..

      __________________________________________________ ______
      That is it for today..
      The Medical student Review

      Text without context is pretext
      If your opponent is of choleric temperament, seek to irritate him


    2. #81
      Soldier Through It! Array جوري's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Jul 2006
      Location
      من ارض الكنانة
      Gender
      Female
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      27,787
      Threads
      1260
      Reputation
      246356
      Rep Power
      210
      Likes (Given)
      5578
      Likes (Received)
      6254

      Re: The Medical student Review


      Jazakoum Allah khyran

      anyone with medical knowledge can contribute to this thread.. it isn't just mine..

      The Medical student Review

      Text without context is pretext
      If your opponent is of choleric temperament, seek to irritate him


    3. #82
      Full Member Array Silver's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Apr 2006
      Gender
      Female
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      407
      Threads
      28
      Reputation
      2093
      Rep Power
      63
      Likes (Given)
      0
      Likes (Received)
      0

      Re: The Medical student Review


      I haven't been on this forum for quite a while. I'm a 3rd year med student now & we're starting to focus on pathologies in our courses. So this thread will be really useful for me. Thanks!!

    4. #83
      Ahlaam ma'aya! Array Silver Pearl's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Apr 2005
      Location
      دار السلام
      Gender
      Female
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      1,048
      Threads
      46
      Reputation
      23352
      Rep Power
      80
      Likes (Given)
      1
      Likes (Received)
      18

      Re: The Medical student Review


      Mashaa'Allaah, excellent thread! Very comprehensive!

      I'll try and add some CT, Ultrasound and X-Ray notes Inshaa'Allaah.
      The Medical student Review

      وَاصْبِرْ وَمَا صَبْرُكَ إِلاَّ بِاللّهِ


      ما بعرف انا شو حسيت

    5. #84
      Soldier Through It! Array جوري's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Jul 2006
      Location
      من ارض الكنانة
      Gender
      Female
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      27,787
      Threads
      1260
      Reputation
      246356
      Rep Power
      210
      Likes (Given)
      5578
      Likes (Received)
      6254

      Re: The Medical student Review


      ^^ that would be amazing, I'd be very grateful for that..

      Jazaki Allah khyran

      The Medical student Review

      Text without context is pretext
      If your opponent is of choleric temperament, seek to irritate him


    6. #85
      Soldier Through It! Array جوري's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Jul 2006
      Location
      من ارض الكنانة
      Gender
      Female
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      27,787
      Threads
      1260
      Reputation
      246356
      Rep Power
      210
      Likes (Given)
      5578
      Likes (Received)
      6254

      Re: The Medical student Review


      Great lecture on Neuroendocrine tumors,



      The Medical student Review

      Text without context is pretext
      If your opponent is of choleric temperament, seek to irritate him


    7. #86
      Soldier Through It! Array جوري's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Jul 2006
      Location
      من ارض الكنانة
      Gender
      Female
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      27,787
      Threads
      1260
      Reputation
      246356
      Rep Power
      210
      Likes (Given)
      5578
      Likes (Received)
      6254

      Re: The Medical student Review


      Dr Najeeb is brilliant not to mention hilarious in his description of the renin-angiotensin-aldoesterone system



      I am sticking a link to all 79 videos.. most folks have problems with renal physiology the most but it would pay to listen to all his lectures actually ..

      http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=DoctorNajeeb#g/u

      The Medical student Review

      Text without context is pretext
      If your opponent is of choleric temperament, seek to irritate him


    8. #87
      A slave of Allaah Array Banu_Hashim's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      South West, England
      Gender
      Male
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      1,706
      Threads
      41
      Reputation
      13227
      Rep Power
      53
      Likes (Given)
      202
      Likes (Received)
      156

      Re: The Medical student Review


      BarakAllahu Feek. Very useful.
      The Medical student Review

      ‘Say: If the ocean were ink wherewith to write out the words of my Lord, sooner would the ocean be exhausted, even if We added another ocean like it.’~Al Qu'raan (18:109)


    9. #88
      Soldier Through It! Array جوري's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Jul 2006
      Location
      من ارض الكنانة
      Gender
      Female
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      27,787
      Threads
      1260
      Reputation
      246356
      Rep Power
      210
      Likes (Given)
      5578
      Likes (Received)
      6254

      Re: The Medical student Review


      Jazaka Allah khyran, if you find something useful share it.. I am surprised at how many useful lectures I found on youtube..

      The Medical student Review

      Text without context is pretext
      If your opponent is of choleric temperament, seek to irritate him


    10. #89
      ~ ♥ Haramain ♥ ~ Array BintAbee's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      South Africa
      Gender
      Female
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      2,567
      Threads
      22
      Reputation
      44516
      Rep Power
      71
      Likes (Given)
      491
      Likes (Received)
      466

      Re: The Medical student Review


      Quote Originally Posted by Gossamer skye View Post
      Dr Najeeb is brilliant not to mention hilarious in his description of the renin-angiotensin-aldoesterone system



      I am sticking a link to all 79 videos.. most folks have problems with renal physiology the most but it would pay to listen to all his lectures actually ..

      http://www.youtube.com/profile?user=DoctorNajeeb#g/u

      Jazakillah Khair. Very benefcial indeed. Dad was excited about these lectures too
      The Medical student Review

      "Teach your child the Quraan & the Quraan will teach him everything."


    11. #90
      Soldier Through It! Array جوري's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Jul 2006
      Location
      من ارض الكنانة
      Gender
      Female
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      27,787
      Threads
      1260
      Reputation
      246356
      Rep Power
      210
      Likes (Given)
      5578
      Likes (Received)
      6254

      Re: The Medical student Review


      ^^ this guy is remarkable masha'Allah he did for me in one day what an entire semester of physiology didn't..
      al7mdlillah.. I like the way he incorporates 'mango' in the topic of filtration, I must admit I have never encountered an Asian professor who didn't incorporate that fruit into any topic somehow..

      The Medical student Review

      Text without context is pretext
      If your opponent is of choleric temperament, seek to irritate him


    12. #91
      Bint Abee's lil sis! Array Raudha's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      SouthAfrica
      Gender
      Female
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      1,225
      Threads
      1
      Reputation
      14824
      Rep Power
      53
      Likes (Given)
      91
      Likes (Received)
      54

      Re: The Medical student Review




      My friend sent me this link to a movie of heart embryology which I found VERY useful:

      http://video.google.com/videoplay?do...1776699704562#

      I hope others find it beneficial as well.

      Last edited by Raudha; 04-12-2010 at 04:48 PM.

    13. #92
      Soldier Through It! Array جوري's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Jul 2006
      Location
      من ارض الكنانة
      Gender
      Female
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      27,787
      Threads
      1260
      Reputation
      246356
      Rep Power
      210
      Likes (Given)
      5578
      Likes (Received)
      6254

      Re: The Medical student Review


      ^^ jazaki Allah khyran that is indeed very useful..especially in understanding how some congenital heart diseases develop..

      The Medical student Review

      Text without context is pretext
      If your opponent is of choleric temperament, seek to irritate him


    14. #93
      Bint Abee's lil sis! Array Raudha's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Location
      SouthAfrica
      Gender
      Female
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      1,225
      Threads
      1
      Reputation
      14824
      Rep Power
      53
      Likes (Given)
      91
      Likes (Received)
      54

      Re: The Medical student Review


      ^Ameen. Wa Iyyaki dear sis.

      I also have this link that my Dad sent to me. I haven't been through it in detail though. Its called the Auscultation assistant:

      http://www.med.ucla.edu/wilkes/inex.htm

      I hope its beneficial.


    15. #94
      Soldier Through It! Array جوري's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Jul 2006
      Location
      من ارض الكنانة
      Gender
      Female
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      27,787
      Threads
      1260
      Reputation
      246356
      Rep Power
      210
      Likes (Given)
      5578
      Likes (Received)
      6254

      Re: The Medical student Review


      Oh God yes.. I have been thinking of investing in one of those electrical stethoscope.. you know the art of the physical exam is really a dying one with all the technology we have .. although I wonder what that spells out to with the new healthcare reform

      The Medical student Review

      Text without context is pretext
      If your opponent is of choleric temperament, seek to irritate him


    16. #95
      Soldier Through It! Array جوري's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Jul 2006
      Location
      من ارض الكنانة
      Gender
      Female
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      27,787
      Threads
      1260
      Reputation
      246356
      Rep Power
      210
      Likes (Given)
      5578
      Likes (Received)
      6254

      Re: The Medical student Review


      iridectomy for narrow angle

      The Medical student Review

      Text without context is pretext
      If your opponent is of choleric temperament, seek to irritate him


    17. #96
      A slave of Allaah Array Banu_Hashim's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      South West, England
      Gender
      Male
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      1,706
      Threads
      41
      Reputation
      13227
      Rep Power
      53
      Likes (Given)
      202
      Likes (Received)
      156

      Re: The Medical student Review


      YouTube is possibly one of the best inventions ever. I've found so many amazing organic chemistry lectures . Al7amdulillah.
      The Medical student Review

      ‘Say: If the ocean were ink wherewith to write out the words of my Lord, sooner would the ocean be exhausted, even if We added another ocean like it.’~Al Qu'raan (18:109)


    18. #97
      Soldier Through It! Array جوري's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Jul 2006
      Location
      من ارض الكنانة
      Gender
      Female
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      27,787
      Threads
      1260
      Reputation
      246356
      Rep Power
      210
      Likes (Given)
      5578
      Likes (Received)
      6254

      Re: The Medical student Review


      ^^ organic chemistry was the death of me.. I didn't even have internet when I was in under-grad.. I really think the number of hours I have vested studying would have been so much better utilized and elucidated if I had all that technology at my finger tips.. but al7mdlillah 3la kol 7al.. still there are plenty of folks with the latest technology who manage to do nothing at all with their lives as such I should be grateful even if I struggled alot!

      The Medical student Review

      Text without context is pretext
      If your opponent is of choleric temperament, seek to irritate him


    19. #98
      A slave of Allaah Array Banu_Hashim's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      South West, England
      Gender
      Male
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      1,706
      Threads
      41
      Reputation
      13227
      Rep Power
      53
      Likes (Given)
      202
      Likes (Received)
      156

      Re: The Medical student Review


      Quote Originally Posted by Gossamer skye View Post
      ^^ organic chemistry was the death of me.. I didn't even have internet when I was in under-grad.. I really think the number of hours I have vested studying would have been so much better utilized and elucidated if I had all that technology at my finger tips.. but al7mdlillah 3la kol 7al.. still there are plenty of folks with the latest technology who manage to do nothing at all with their lives as such I should be grateful even if I struggled alot!

      Actually, I think struggle and hardships are what make a person ultimately successful. No hardships and ease all the time make a lazy student :X

      Allahu 'Alam.
      The Medical student Review

      ‘Say: If the ocean were ink wherewith to write out the words of my Lord, sooner would the ocean be exhausted, even if We added another ocean like it.’~Al Qu'raan (18:109)


    20. #99
      Anathema Array CosmicPathos's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      in the sea
      Gender
      Male
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      3,919
      Threads
      74
      Reputation
      24550
      Rep Power
      56
      Likes (Given)
      314
      Likes (Received)
      780

      Re: The Medical student Review


      hehe .. Orgo chem I and orgo chem II my life changers in college, allhamdulillah. Sort of a comebacks from miserable first year performance. Allhamdulillah. yet most folks dont like it and I can see why. You have to make those 2 courses your wives, at least for the whole semester and imagine that they are just nagging wives by nature.

      Once you can relate pure orgo with the biochemical reactions and their mechanisms (the dreaded biochem courses) in your cells (purine/pryrimidine metabolism etc) you come to realize how each molecule is like a living being ... with its own life, its own ideals and its own destiny studying and "living" with these molecules for almost eternity make you start believing in them as each of them had a persona, a story to tell. There are universes within us. If you thought that this was crazy, we still dont know in detail how each atom and subatomic particles behave within these molecules ....as these chemicals dance to the tune of life.

      *back to viro*
      Last edited by CosmicPathos; 04-14-2010 at 08:43 PM.
      The Medical student Review

      Help me to escape from this existence
      I yearn for an answer... can you help me?
      I'm drowning in a sea of abused visions and shattered dreams
      In somnolent illusion... I'm paralyzed

    21. #100
      Soldier Through It! Array جوري's Avatar
      Feeling
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Jul 2006
      Location
      من ارض الكنانة
      Gender
      Female
      Religion
      Islam
      Posts
      27,787
      Threads
      1260
      Reputation
      246356
      Rep Power
      210
      Likes (Given)
      5578
      Likes (Received)
      6254

      Re: The Medical student Review


      I don't think they are akin to nagging wives for surely one would construe something from the nags.. they were elusive, problematic and mocking.. the worst type of partnership ..
      al7mdlillah it is behind us...
      The Medical student Review

      Text without context is pretext
      If your opponent is of choleric temperament, seek to irritate him


     

     
    Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 3 4 5 6 7 LastLast

    Similar Threads

    1. Replies: 2
      Last Post: 05-26-2010, 02:35 PM
    2. Book Review
      By Beardo in forum Creative Writing & Art
      Replies: 2
      Last Post: 11-13-2009, 03:51 PM
    3. Replies: 1
      Last Post: 08-28-2007, 11:08 PM
    4. Replies: 0
      Last Post: 04-21-2007, 01:10 PM
    5. book review
      By partysoverkids in forum General
      Replies: 1
      Last Post: 02-19-2006, 10:50 PM

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •