/* */

PDA

View Full Version : What does Allahu akbar mean ?

mansio
01-22-2006, 10:12 PM
Everybody translates "Allahu akbar" as "God is great".

Is not the exact translation as "God is the greatest" ?

"God is great" should be "Allahu kabir" in Arabic.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
- Qatada -
01-22-2006, 10:19 PM
I was thinkin that too, how people translated it as 'Allaah is Great' and it kinda confused me. Allaah is the Greatest, but why weren't the people sayin it right?

After i read that Allaahu akbar, means Allaah is Greater, i believed that because even though i have little knowledge of the arabic language - it may mean 'Allaah is Greater' because there may be no such word is 'greatest' in arabic. So 'Allaah is Greater' matches perfectly because no matter what you say is 'great' - Allaah is Greater.

lol hope u get wa i mean..

muslima7186
01-22-2006, 10:28 PM
Salaam alaikom!

It means "Allah is the greatest"

wa salaam alaikom..

Tasneem
01-22-2006, 11:41 PM
Yeah-

I always thought it meant Allah is the Greatest

SaLaMz

Welcome, Guest!
Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
mansio
01-23-2006, 09:51 AM
I forgot about the meaning "greater". I think Arabic does not dinstinguish between comparative "greater" and superlative "the greatest".

aZn_pLayGurL
01-23-2006, 09:53 AM
Allah Huakbar = God Is The Greatest :)

Takumi
01-23-2006, 02:23 PM
format_quote Originally Posted by mansio
I forgot about the meaning "greater". I think Arabic does not dinstinguish between comparative "greater" and superlative "the greatest".

You are almost correct. I thank you for pointing that out.

There's another form of noun in Arabic language termed Seeghah mubalaghah.