/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Hello to you!

wth1257
05-11-2008, 02:12 AM
Hi,

My name is Will, I'm a student currently enjoying the lax times of summer break:p

I'm interested in learning about Islam, in fact I dropped Calc 3 to take "Classical Islam" next fall. I've read "No god but God" by Reza Aslan and enjoyed it, and would like to read the Koran this summer(though I have quite a few other, very dense books to get through and am not sure if I will get to it).

I'm a lapsed Catholic, I was once seriously considering the Preisthood but decided aghinst it, and still have aversion to Organized Religion, though great respect for Pope John Paul II who is a personal hearo and the primary reasone I still classify myself as any sort of Catholic. My main interests are logic and philosophy of mathematics and philosphy of Mind, but politics and history are side interests.

I'm a truely awefull speller(In fact I joke that I love symbolic logic so much because there is little to know spelling involved:p), so please forgive that.

Is there any advise or recomendations you have?

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Muslim Woman
05-11-2008, 02:23 AM
Salaam/peace

welcome to the forum . Glad to know that u will study Islam :statisfie -- btw what is Classical Islam ? :?

Ask any question u want to know about Islam. God Willing , we will ans :)

Na7lah
05-11-2008, 02:35 AM
welcome to the forum

i advise u read the quran. God willing u will enjoy it very much
plus-u won't find any book that compares to it :D

wth1257
05-11-2008, 02:46 AM
format_quote Originally Posted by Muslim Woman
Salaam/peace

welcome to the forum . Glad to know that u will study Islam :statisfie -- btw what is Classical Islam ? :?
That's a good question:P

I assume, though I don't know, it simply examines the besis of Islam, and traditional teachings of Scholars, like pre Afghani/Waahab traditional religious discource, but don't really know.