/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Night Prayers Question

Muezza The Cat
05-28-2008, 03:01 AM
As-Salamu Alaykum! I am an American fiction writer and college professor. I have an Islamic character in a book I am completing and I'm hoping to make him more realistic and less stereotypical. I will certainly reach out off-line also. I'm here to learn and I would greatly appreciate any feedback about what I believe to be a very basic topic, night prayers.

I am trying to understand the practical differences between the optional Tahajjud night prayer and the required Isha'a night prayer.

Does anyone have practical experience with the former, the Tahajjud prayer?

Are both the Tahajjud and the Isha's called "night prayers?"

These days, who actually performs these prayers?

Do Muslims sometimes awake in the middle of the night to say one of these prayers?

I would be most grateful for any and all responses!

Thank you so much and please, in advance, forgive my enormous ignorance about this topic. I am certain I have mangled these descriptions and made some erroneous assumptions.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
------
05-28-2008, 11:13 AM
:salamext:

*bump

Muezza The Cat
06-01-2008, 07:05 PM
bump -- please? :>)

Na7lah
06-01-2008, 07:19 PM
I am trying to understand the practical differences between the optional Tahajjud night prayer and the required Isha'a night prayer.
Well like u said, Tahajud prayer is optional and Isha is required on every Muslim.

I pray the Tahajud whenever I can, specially in Ramadhan. Also another thing, Taraweeh which is prayed by a large number of Muslims is also considered as Tahajud.

I’m not sure about that, mayb someone else can answer that. But I’ll search on it inshallah.

Well every Muslim Has to pray Isha. I know not many people are willing to wake up in the night for Tahajud but some do, walhamdulillah.

Do Muslims sometimes awake in the middle of the night to say one of these prayers?