/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Taking a new name

Damon
05-30-2008, 12:54 AM
As salaam alaykum, dearest brothers and sisters!

I am American, and relatively new to Islam (reverted about 6 months ago) and I'm still learning. My name given to me by my parents is a name used in Greek pagan mythology (Damon), and I am wishing to change it. Now, I have only ever heard of people taking Arabic names as their new, Muslim name. I was wondering if it is permissible or common to choose, for example, a Bosnian or Chechen name? Now, I think Arabic names are beautiful, but I'd like a name closer to my ancestral home, and Bosnia and Chechnya are the closest Muslim areas to where my ancestors came from. Also, would it be offensive to people from Bosnia or Chechnya if I took a Bosnian or Chechen name but was not really from there?

Thank you all in advance for your advice!

-Damon

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Amat Allah
05-30-2008, 04:10 AM
Asalamo Alikom Wa Rahmato Allah

see this link my dear and I hope it will be beneficent for you...

http://www.zawaj.com/articles/naming.html

may Allah grant you with satisfaction and happiness and protect you from all harms and reward you with the paradise

Ameeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee en

MustafaMc
05-30-2008, 06:31 AM
Assalamu alaikum, first congratulations on your reversion to Islam. I reverted to Islam 26 years ago, but only decided to legally change my name 4 years ago. My reason as that I wanted to be known as a Muslim. Your reason is a good one too. I assume from your post that Damon was a mythological god of the Greeks, if that is so then it is good to change your name.

------
05-30-2008, 08:47 AM
:salamext:

You can find some superb names here InshaaAllaah.

Welcome, Guest!
Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.