/* */

PDA

View Full Version : I don't understand, plz explain

------
09-07-2008, 11:35 AM
:salamext:

I have a question about the last verse of Surah Baqarah [2], and it would be appreciated if someone could clear up my confusion.

It says in the last verse [286] that;

"On no soul does Allah Place a burden greater than it can bear."

But it says in the same verse;

"Our Lord! Lay not on us a burden Like that which You did lay on those before us; Our Lord! Lay not on us a burden greater than we have strength to bear"

From what I understand, Allaah laid a burden greater than they had the strength to bear, on the people that came before us? When Allaah says He does not place a burden greater then a soul can bear, why then is there a dua asking Allaah not to place a burden on a person, greater than it can bear?

Can someone please clear up my confusion, Jazaak Allaah Khayr in advance.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Al-Zaara
09-07-2008, 11:42 AM
I am not a professional to help you, but I understood it differently than you, so that's why I am replying.

How I understood is the second verse you provided saying to God not to give that burden which was given to those before, because this person thinks/believes/says they cannot bear the burden of the likes which they had in the past.

InshaAllah, someone else will give an correct answer. This is just a guess from my side, that's how I have understood it so far.

Maybe it's clearer if you read this translation:

Ahmed Raza Khan: Mohammed Aqib Qadri: