/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Question about treating your wife

Hamayun
09-10-2008, 08:45 PM
Asalam Alekum

Please forgive me if this is an ignorant question as I am still learning about Islam (Although I was born into a Muslim family I have only recently started learning)

My question pertains to a post I read earlier with regards to Hijab.

format_quote Originally Posted by amani
Men are the protectors and maintainers of women, because Allah has made one of them to excel the other, and because they spend (to support them) from their means. Therefore the righteous women are devoutly obedient (to Allah and to their husbands), and guard in the husbands absence what Allah orders them to guard (e.g. their chastity, their husbands property, etc.). As to those women on whose part you see illconduct, admonish them (first), (next), refuse to share their beds, (and last) beat them (lightly, if it is useful), but if they return to obedience, seek not against them means (of annoyance). Surely, Allah is Ever Most High, Most Great.
4:34
My wife is French and was a non practicing Christian until we got married. She has said her Shahada and converted to Islam. She is fasting and making an effort to change her life. But she does not cover her head yet.
She dresses modestly and doesnt wear skirts etc but doesnt cover her head.

My question is.. Is it true that I should I beat/force her to wear a scarf? She has accepted Islam on her own and seems to be making an effort with Ramadan and prayers. I can't bring myself to pressure her to wear hijab because I feel that will put her off.

I have told her the significance of the Hijab and left her to make the decision when she is ready. Is that the right thing to do?

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

Hamayun

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Snowflake
09-10-2008, 09:04 PM
asalam alaikum