/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Muslim Femal Paramedic

*saphire*
10-26-2008, 02:55 PM
Salaams, I am a 20 year old pakistani muslim female and wish to become a paramedic. My mother is strongly against this and she says it goes against Islam. I will continue to wear my hijab and the clothing is not revealing anyway. I'm currently a manager at a callcentre and took a first aid course and know this is what i want to do....save lives. There's a few worrying things about the job......i understand which my mum points out:

1) You have to work late nights - after the year/two year training i can opt out of this.

2) I must travel with a male - i'll only jump into an ambulance when we get a call and i doubt there will be a danger of anything happening when we are on the way to save someones life!

3) I may have to treat alcoholics and drug users especially at nights which can be dangerous - my response - on those kind of call outs the police are always present and i doubt that anybody will attack me when i have been called to save a life.

Please please please can anyone offer me advice. I really want to do this unless it strongly compromises with Islam.......please offer knowledge........

Thanks

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
AnonymousPoster
10-26-2008, 04:54 PM
format_quote Originally Posted by *saphire*
Salaams, I am a 20 year old pakistani muslim female and wish to become a paramedic. My mother is strongly against this and she says it goes against Islam. I will continue to wear my hijab and the clothing is not revealing anyway. I'm currently a manager at a callcentre and took a first aid course and know this is what i want to do....save lives. There's a few worrying things about the job......i understand which my mum points out:

1) You have to work late nights - after the year/two year training i can opt out of this.