/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Re: Weight, health, Nutrition, and exercise

Khalil_Allah
11-03-2008, 06:39 PM
Dear brothers and sisters in Islam (and non muslims too :) )

I just wanted to share some of my knowledge regarding these issues, because I keep seeing sisters upset about their weight.

This is base knowledge and guidelines, and I am not a professional at this stuff, but I have spent a lot of time dealing with exercise and nutrition because I actually am too skinny. On one end of the spectrum are people that can eat very little and it will still stick on them like fat, and on the other end are people like me who can eat an entire cow and it will be gone in a day.

It seems that women are more prone to being the former, that is, they eat and gain weight easily. So, I will address what these women should know and do to achieve the results they want.
--------------------------
Take care of diet, and then move to exercise. Diet is not (necessarily) about eating less, but about eating right. What is right for one is not right for another.

So what do you do?

Step 1) Begin to log everything that you eat in a personal journal, while maintaining your normal diet.

Step 2) Get online and get rough estimates of the nutritional value of what you have eaten in four categories: 1) calories, 2) carbohydrates, 3) protein, 4) Fats. The most important category for the time being is 1) calories.

Step 3) Begin to get a good idea after a few days about what you are consuming in terms of calories. Likely, the amounts will vary significantly from day to day.

Step 4) Go to google and type in basal metabolic rate. find a website that will let you calculate your BMR. This number is the amount of calories you use each day by sitting on the couch!

Step 5) Compare your average caloric intake each day to your BMR.

Step 6) Begin the routine of EVERY morning, when you wake up, drinking a glass of cold or luke-warm water. This kickstarts your metabolism for the day.