/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Hello from the middle of nowhere

Al Qalam
11-13-2008, 09:54 PM
I am a non-muslim, but I'm very interested in learning more about Islam. About three years ago I discovered the Quran while browsing through my local bookstore. I had never read it before, but after the first couple of pages, I was absolutely captivated. I've read the entire Quran about 10 times, now, and I continue to read it on a daily basis, if for nothing more than the great peace and joy its words bring to me like no other book ever has. I am just beginning to study Hadith, so if anyone can recommend good sources, references, books, etc., that would be most helpful. I live on an island in the Pacific, which although well populated is virtually devoid of Muslims. Hence, our local libraries are equally devoid of books relating to Islam.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Muhammad
11-13-2008, 10:13 PM
Hello Al Qalam,

Welcome to LI! It is a pleasure to have you on board. :)

The fact that you have read the Qur'an 10 times is very impressive! Have you read it in Arabic, or was it a translation?

For a list of suggested reading regarding various aspects of Islam, you can refer to this thread: http://www.islamicboard.com/discover...resources.html

You can also find many useful articles and online books. Here are a few useful sites for this:

http://www.islamhouse.com/
http://www.abdurrahman.org/
http://www.kalamullah.com/

I hope you will have en enjoyable and beneficial stay. May Allaah the most Exalted open your heart to Islam, Aameen!

Peace.

جوري
11-13-2008, 10:28 PM
Mash'Allah

:welcome: aboard akhi..

:w:

Danah
11-13-2008, 10:39 PM
welcome abroad brother, its really amazing that you read Quran 10 times and have this strong desire to learn more
hopefully you will find what you looking for in LI

Welcome, Guest!
Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.