/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Greetings of Peace

Triumphant
01-05-2009, 08:41 PM
I'm not good at writing essays ( havent started college yet.criticism is welcome, actually i beg you to help me improve lol.)

wall of text on/

Asalamu alaikum, My name is Israfeel and I'm a Muslim alhamdulillah! w00t. I'm so happy to have been blessed and guided by Allah ta'ala to this deen. A little history on me: I was raised as a catholic and got baptized in the church, and also did my "holy" communion at the age of 12. Life was good as a youngster. When I was about 15 my older neighbor friend invited me to attend a "Christian not Catholic church in my neighborhood ( a lot of speaking in tongues, singing and clapping. I was always asked "Are you Catholic or Christian?" I never really understood that question until I learned about Tawheed in Islam.

This phase went on for about 3 months and we started "Backsliding" again. I got into a lot of trouble and started to neglect my schoolwork. I got kicked out of all the public schools for ditching class among other things.. I got sent to boot camp and got my high school diploma there! not GED lol. When I was realeased from there 6 months after my 18th birthday I was very responsible.
I found a job within a month and started to help pay the bills at home and eventually got a car and started to look for better job. ( I haven't kept a job since.)

I will explain on how Allah, the Majestic, guided me to Islam. I was a freshman in high school when 9/11 happened. I remember coming home and watching it on the news and pictures of Arab muslims where splattered all over the T.V screen. I feel for the deception until later that week, it was a friday night. On fridays I would listen to an "underground hip hop" radio station. In other words it was a radio station that played true hip hop, not the trash we're fed on BET, MTV or any mainstream media. The show was from 12 am- 3 am.