/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Becoming a humantarian Aid worker.

geek_pride
01-14-2009, 11:06 PM
I've recently decided it what I want to become. I'm currently studying and
6th form and hopefully I would get into uni and become an Aid worker. The only problem is I would be away for 1-2 years in developing countries(alone). My dad completely supports me in this career move however my uncle feels it is not unacceptble for me to be galloping around the world. He believes I should be settled down and become a good housewife and motherimsad. What are people opinion on this

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
crayon
01-15-2009, 11:14 AM
I used to (still sort of do) think the exact same way, sister.

But then I really thought about it.. A woman can't travel without a mahram. There are some scholars who say that it's allowed, but think of it this way: this is something you're going to do for your whole life, you'll be constantly traveling, so it's not just a one time thing. If on judgement day it turns out to be indeed haram, wouldn't you rather have been on the safe side and traveled only with a mahram?
Also, there will be loads of interacting with men, which is a definite no no.
I had several other reasons but they've slipped my mind.. If I remember them I'll edit them in later on.

Plus, there are always people who need help, right where you live. You could join organizations and help people while living right where you are.:)

For me, I've decided the only time I will do this if I marry someone who has the same dream I do, and is willing to do this, together.
If not, then alhamdullilah anyway.
And remeber that whoever leaves something for the sake of Allah, Allah will reward him with something better than it in this life and the next.

geek_pride
01-16-2009, 04:04 PM