/* */

PDA

View Full Version : ** Your ideal world: UTOPIA vs DISTOPIA**

medlink student
02-24-2009, 07:16 PM
:sl:

I have to write a utopia (or) a distopia* short story for my coursework.
(I'm a GCSE student) A bit confused and can't think of any exciting/ interesting ideas.
I want to write a utopia, but I don't have any exciting information, apart from a (heavenly like explanation eg. gardens etc..). So if you can advise me what choice to take, and/or provide me with some ideas i would be grateful!

Please share your ideas. I look forward to reading them. :)
Jazakom Allah khairan/ Thanks

* Utopia: (imaginary) perfect world
* Distopia: (imaginary) imperfect world

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
czgibson
02-24-2009, 07:39 PM
Greetings,

One quick word of advice: it's usually harder to write convincingly about a utopia. Many attempts at it end up sounding soppy and weak.

For a dystopia, you can take almost any imaginary imperfection and just follow its logical consequences. For instance, you could have a world where everybody was forced to watch television all day every day, or where traffic wardens held ultimate power, or where eating fruit was punishable by death. Think about what the consequences of those horrible scenarios might be!

By the way, if you have other questions about English, you could always check out the English Department here.

Peace

Uthman
02-24-2009, 07:43 PM
Good advertising there ^^ :D

In addition, I would imagine that utopias often end up sounding very boring. I think every good story needs a problem or some source of conflict and that can't really happen in a utopian world can it, else it's not a utopia!

Al-Zaara
02-26-2009, 07:18 AM