/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Islamic novels?

Ishbah
03-06-2009, 08:54 PM
:sl:

Before I reverted I enjoyed reading fiction. Since reverting I haven't read so much, not much fiction, though I do read Islamic educational things everyday. Even now, almost 6 years on, I am still learning about Islam and I know that I will be learning for the rest of my life.

But as I said, fiction. Finding a novel which doesn't clash with my faith, well it is not always easy. When I was a Christian, I used to get Christian novels now and again; fiction which had Christianity as a central theme.

So does anyone have any suggestions for novels with an Islamic theme? I know there are Urdu novels out there, but my language is English. So it must be in English.

:w:

Izzy

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
abumalik
03-09-2009, 10:12 PM
Salam,

I had a friend who had similar questions. In the end he decided he was going to write his own novels. Alas, he moved to Saudi Arabia to teach linguistics so I don't know if he ever carried out his intention.

Salam.

Banu_Hashim
03-09-2009, 10:25 PM
This is more of an Islamic Hadith book more than anything but the Stories of Sabahas section is excellent. Really good for learning lessons.

It is a "FAZA'IL-E-A'MAAL" book (first book in a two volume series I think)..

"Stories of the SAHAABAH

Revised translation of the Urdu book Hikayaat-e-Sahabah

by Shaikul Hadith Maulana Muhammad Zakariyya Kaandhalawi

translated by
Abdul Rashid Arshad

The Islamic Madrassa of America
P.O. BOX 84912
San Diego, CA 92138-4912
USA "

abumalik
03-09-2009, 10:47 PM
Salam alaikum Banu Hashim,

Unfortunately Faza'il e A'maal is known to contain fabricated and weak hadith. I was told that Shaykh Akram Nadwi advised people not to read it.

How about The Life of the Companions by Abdul Hamid Hamid or something like that? Two volumes. Perhaps there's also some weak stuff in it, but it's closer to the novel format.