/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Suhaib

Suhaib Jobst
03-14-2009, 09:57 PM
As Salam Alaykum,

I embraced Islam seven years ago, adopting Suhaib as my Islamic first name. I am a 23-year-old university student, who stumbled upon this forum while undertaking some research. Everything is according to the Will of Allah (Subhanahu wa Ta'ala), containing wisdom and a deeper purpose.

I notice that the majority trend on this forum is of the "Salafi" movement. I was a zealous Salafi youth for about four years after my conversion but have since rejected their approach. I follow the Maliki madhhab and am studying the Shadhili-Darqawi tariqa of Tasawwuf (I know this already makes me a "heretic" in the eyes of many here).

However, I don't intend any arguments or polemics but rather to discuss the issues which divide us, in a constructive and logical manner. I look forward to these and other general discussions, and indeed to further correspondences. Jazakallah khair.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
aadil77
03-14-2009, 10:01 PM
:sl:

Welcome to the forum :D:thumbs_up

I don't think anyone cares about these minor divisions between muslims, you'll probably find users like this on ummah forums, but over here we're like a big family

Mikayeel
03-14-2009, 10:03 PM
:w: Suhaib

Welcome and have a good stay :)

Suhaib Jobst
03-14-2009, 10:04 PM
format_quote Originally Posted by aadil77
I don't think anyone cares about these minor divisions between muslims, you'll probably find users like this on ummah forums, but over here we're like a big family
Jazakallah khair. I just noticed that many posts which attempt to express the madhhabi and Sufi views tend to be closed. Likewise, I noticed that there are many Salafi texts which are "sticky" so I cannot respond to any of them. However, although I have my own strong beliefs in this regard my primary focus is on other issues where we could probably find more agreement as Muslims in general, insha'Allah.

Welcome, Guest!