/* */

PDA

View Full Version : PGCE Secondary

AbuSalahudeen
04-22-2009, 10:24 PM
:sl:

I Graduated last year (2008) with a Bachelors of Science, I currently work in the IT industry, I'm thinking of making a early career move to Secondary ICT Teaching. If any one here is going through a PGCE or has completed it, please tell me about your experiences and things for me to expect. I haven't got any teaching experience :exhausted but I'm planning to take a week off work and spend it in a school observing different classes and inshallah I'm trying to get some work experience in a weekend tution center.

....also those who live in London, which Institions would you recommend me to study at, I've heard Institute of Education is good, and University of East London does a good PGCE program although it is not a great University (no offence if anyone is a undergrad there).

....and if any of you are Secondary School teachers in the UK I would love to hear your honest opinions.

Look forward to reading the replys :D.

PS isit me or isit mostly sisters who get into teaching, I haven't met many practising brothers involved in Teaching School children in the UK.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
AbuSalahudeen
04-23-2009, 02:18 PM
................?

Yanal
04-23-2009, 02:27 PM
Ask bro Farhan he is a UNI teacher.

Musaafirah
04-25-2009, 08:52 PM
A quote from a sister in another thread...
format_quote Originally Posted by Mysterious Uk
I am thinking of doing a PGCE when my degree is finished, but i prefer working with primary schools kids. I was a teaching assistant for 5 weeks in a primary school and loved it. My friend works in a secondary school and she said it is better than primary school because the kids are less clingy and you see different children all the time. As well as the free periods too.

If you are thinking of doing a pgce a couple of students who are doing it told me:
- you go to three different schools