PDA

View Full Version : Public Speaking

Beardo
05-28-2009, 10:44 PM
Taken from www.DiariesofaHafiz.com

It's a cool blog.

------

Assalamu Alaykum Wa Rahmatullah All!

I just came back from the public speaking event. I think, Alhamdulillah, the speech went quite well. If they have it recorded, I’ll consider posting it up here. Regardless, here’s the written. My speech was, of course, a bit modified in the course of speaking, but anyway, here’s the gist:

———–

Assalamu Alaykum,

My name is (real name) and I graduated from the institute last march. . I initially began this adventurous journey when I was 11 years old. For me, it was a life changing experience and a family project. Each of my family members contributed in their own way. My dad invested in me for the hereafter, my brother drove me to and from, and my mom did the biggest part of making sure every line I memorized was engraved in my heart forever.

My inspirations and motivational means came from my teachers, family, and classmates. They were the fuel for my fulfilling experience. It were those minor and insignificant moments that we shared among the classmates that gradually created our brotherhood. It was the honor of one being defended by all, and the sorrow of one being shared by all.

Part of the experience of Hifdh, however, is sacrifice. And as they say, no pain, no gain. In my case, the main sacrifice was the television. My life literally revolved around Nickelodeon, the Disney Channel, and Cartoon Network. But alhamdulillah, Allah guided me and I learned to find alternative interest and hobbies. In the process, I also learned to manage my time wisely because