/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Proper Treatment of Quran

bartdanr
06-18-2009, 12:06 AM
Hi Everyone,

I have been studying the English meaning of Quran for a few years now, and have read it through many times. I come from a Christian background, and in my tradition, it was quite common to use highlighters, pens and pencils to mark special passages and write notes in the margins. (In fact, I have several "wide margin" Bibles especially made for note-taking in the margins). This was not considered disrespectful.

However, I do not want to treat a Quran--or an English menaing of Quran--anything but respectful. Would using a highligher and/or making notes in the margins be considered disrespectful? Also, what about reading while eating or drinking (not alcohol, of course!)?

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Nσσя'υℓ Jαииαн
06-19-2009, 06:08 PM
:bump1:

Wow I have no clue.
Hopefully someone replies :)

aadil77
06-20-2009, 10:31 AM
Well if its an english translation then you can do what you want really.

Highlighting or making notes on a proper Quran shouldn't be a problem, but with an arabic Quran you have to be in a state of ablution before touching it, and also when we recite the Quran we usually rinse out our mouths clear of food so it doesn't distract us, but not sure if you'll have to?

Maybe someone more learned can help

bartdanr
06-24-2009, 08:21 AM
format_quote Originally Posted by aadil77

Highlighting or making notes on a proper Quran shouldn't be a problem, but with an arabic Quran you have to be in a state of ablution before touching it, and also when we recite the Quran we usually rinse out our mouths clear of food so it doesn't distract us, but not sure if you'll have to?

Thanks, aadil--I appreciate your response. I read only English, but in some copies of the English meaning of Quran it also has the Arabic.

Please keep the replies coming!

Welcome, Guest!