/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Are Women Obliged to Pay Zakat?

doorster
06-18-2009, 12:06 PM
Name of Questioner
Sayda

Title
Are Women Obliged to Pay Zakah?

Question
As-Salaamu `Alaykum wa Rahmatullah. I am a student but I have a part-time job. Is it Fard (obligatory) upon me to pay Zakah? I was told that it is not Fard upon women because while they are unmarried, the head of the family (i.e. the father) pays Zakah on behalf of everyone in the family, and when they are married their husbands pay on their behalf. I was also told that if a woman’s father does not pay any Zakah at all, then she still will not be accountable for it. Is this true? Also is everyone liable to pay Zakat-ul Fitr? If so, how much do we give and in what form (money or food)? Jazakum Allahu Khairan.

Date
15/Dec/2004

Name of Counsellor
Monzer Kahf

Topic
Who Should Pay Zakah

Answer

Wa`alykum As-Salaamu wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakaatuh.

In the Name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful.

All praise and thanks are due to Allah, and peace and blessings be upon His Messenger.

Dear sister in Islam, thanks a lot for your question which reflects your care to have a clear view of the teachings of Islam. Allah commands Muslims to refer to people of knowledge to get themselves well-acquainted with the teachings of Islam as well as all aspects of life.

Zakah is one of the pillars of Islam and a manifestation of the solidarity that that connects Muslims and brings them each to other. It is also a demonstration of one’s gratitude to Allah Who granted him wealth and favored him with prosperity and reaches. It also bridge the gab between the reach and the poor and spread stability and social peace in the community.

With regard to your question, Dr. Monzer Kahf, a prominent Muslim economist and counselor, answers: