/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Off for 15 days!

Beardo
07-31-2009, 05:35 PM
Assalamu Alaykum,

I hope I put this in the right forum.

I'll be going back home to Bangladesh for roughly two weeks. It's my first time going back home in three years, and I request your duas. I really did not want to go initially, because of the musquitoes and heat. Also because I'll be coming back just the day before school and only 5 days before I have to lead Taraweeh. However, my Grandmother wants to see me, and my father wants me to see her. Thus, I am going with the intention to please my family and place a good impression on myself. I am very nervous, so please remember me in your duas. Insha'Allah this will be a trip I will remember forever, in a positive way. Insha'Allah I'll have a safe trip to and from, and create a bond with my family, especially my grandmother.

Actually, this is what changed my mind about going. Initially, I talked to a scholar and he said it is important that I perform my duty as a grandson, and he gave me good reasoning.

Then I talked to this other brother. He said he's never even been to the beach before, and growing up, he didn't have these opportunities to go outside of his state. Money was a problem, and that I should savor these moments. He said as young as I am, my responsibilities are minimal.

With the scholar and brother's words I am going in a positive attitude and outlook.

I am going into detail for a few reasons. Number one, I am having to hold up the Al-Qalam Newsletter and I think we'll have to delay it quite a bit. Possibly even until Hajj, but I'm hoping sooner. I just wanted our first issue to be on a major occasion such as Hajj or Ramadhan.

Number two, I want to excuse myself. I know I am not much of a help to begin with. Masha'Allah, the staff do so much, I think in my two months as administrator, I only moderated one post.