PDA

View Full Version : Pop Tarts



Al Ansari
08-29-2009, 01:11 PM
As salaamu ‘alaikum wa rahmatullah,
Ramadhan Mubarak.

This is a question about food. Are there any of you who eat Pop Tarts. I have seen that they have gelatin in it, but does not specify the type. I have contacted Kellogs and to my amazement there are two different types of gelatin in their products. The pop tart line (frosted) happens to be derived from beef gelatin, whereas their marshmallows happens to be from pork gelatin.

Any comments???

wsalaam
Reply

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
ummsara1108
08-29-2009, 01:43 PM
Interesting subject and i'm also curious to know the answer, however i've never heard of a pork based gelatin, i'll look for this site I had went to, they have whats halal and whats haraam foods, deodarant, make up, shampoos, ect. it touches base with alot of halal and haraam things.
Reply

aamirsaab
08-29-2009, 01:54 PM
:sl:
If it has gelatine (beef or pork) in it, it's haram. Unless it says halaal on the packaging (i.e halaal cola bottles, sour worms etc).

So in other words, you're not allowed pop tarts. Sorry bud. I crave them too but haram's haram.
Reply

Rasema
08-29-2009, 01:56 PM
Originally Posted by ummsara1108
Interesting subject and i'm also curious to know the answer, however i've never heard of a pork based gelatin, i'll look for this site I had went to, they have whats halal and whats haraam foods, deodarant, make up, shampoos, ect. it touches base with alot of halal and haraam things.
Wa alaiku muselam and Assalamu Alikum

Thanks for the benefitial thread.

Can you share the site please.
Reply

Welcome, Guest!
Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
Sign Up
Al Ansari
08-29-2009, 02:58 PM
Originally Posted by aamirsaab
:sl:
If it has gelatine (beef or pork) in it, it's haram. Unless it says halaal on the packaging (i.e halaal cola bottles, sour worms etc).

So in other words, you're not allowed pop tarts. Sorry bud. I crave them too but haram's haram.
as salaamu 'alaikum,

Akh Aamir, do you have any references to Gelatin being generally haraam, regardless of the animal it is derived from?

Being that we live in the west, no products have I ever seen, unless it is in a largely populated Muslim community going to have halal or haraam written on it.

I have not had a Pop Tart in about seven years because of the word Gelatin (which I considered Haraam, unless it said 'fish gelatin'. However, it led me to research more things that I eat, from snacks to some fast food chains. I take my eating habits more seriously.



Here are some sites I came upon regarding this:

http://http://www.geocities.com/Coll...7207/halal.htm

http://http://www.jamiaislamia.org/halalharam.html

Kellogs Halal or Haram?

Thank you for your email regarding Kelloggs cereals. I can confirm the email received from Ana Lara is in fact correct. Gelatin was found necessary to achieve the required product image and
profile for the market place. As soon as we can achieve an alternative ingredient to gelatin whilst maintaining the quality expected from Kelloggs we will reformulate as appropriate. Thank you for contacting us

Kind Regards
Lindsay James
Customer Services Representative


Subject: Gelatine (pork / beef) In Kellogg's products

Thank you for contacting Kellogg Company about the gelatin we add to some of our products. We are happy to provide you with this information.

Gelatin is used to help the texture of the product and is derived from either beef or pork. Kellogg's(R) Frosted Mini-Wheats( R) and Kellogg's(R) Rice Krispies Treats(R) cereals contain type B gelatin, which is derived from beef. Whenever marshmallow ingredients are present in a
Kellogg's(R) cereal brand, the marshmallow contains type A gelatin, which is derived from pork. Kellogg's(R) Krave(TM) Snack Bars also contain type A gelatin derived from pork sources.

Type B gelatin is derived from beef sources and is found in the frosting of all varieties of Kellogg's(R) Frosted Pop-Tarts(R) , Kellogg's(R) Frosted Pop-Tarts(R) Snak-Stix(TM) , all varieties of Kellogg's(R) Pop-Tarts(R) Pastry Swirls, and Kellogg's(R) Nutri-Grain( R) Minis with
Yogurt Icing. Plain (unfrosted) Kellogg's(R) Pop-Tarts(R) do not contain gelatin. None of the equipment that comes in contact with the gelatin in Kellogg's(R) Frosted Pop-Tarts(R) is used in the production of the other pastries.

Kellogg's(R) Rice Krispies Treats(R) Squares contain type A gelatin in the marshmallow, which is derived from pork sources.

The pregelatinized wheat starch contained in some of our toaster pastries is derived from wheat and does not contain any gelatin. Vegetable shortening only is used to produce plain or frosted
Kellogg's(R) Pop-Tarts(R) . No animal shortening is used.

We appreciate your patronage of our products and hope that this provides you with the information you need to make food choices appropriate for your family.

Sincerely,

Ana Lara Consumer Affairs Department

vclarke wrote, On 18/06/2008 07:04:



In the end, the question goes beyond Pop Tarts. The basis of the question is "IS GELATIN (REGARDLESS OF THE ANIMAL IT IS DERIVED FROM) HALAL IF IT IS NOT FROM SWINE?


And Allaah knows best.

Jazakamullah Khairan for the comments.
Reply

Snowflake
08-29-2009, 03:01 PM
Don't worry. There's always the Go-Ahead bars which will more than makeup for missing out on Pop-Tarts. It's the yogurt covered biscuit ones I'm talking about. :)
Reply

ardianto
08-29-2009, 03:55 PM
Originally Posted by aamirsaab
:sl:
If it has gelatine (beef or pork) in it, it's haram. Unless it says halaal on the packaging (i.e halaal cola bottles, sour worms etc).

So in other words, you're not allowed pop tarts. Sorry bud. I crave them too but haram's haram.
Beef gelatine is halal if the cow was slaughtered in Islamic rule.

But I think beef gelatine that produced in non-muslim countries are not halal because the cow was not slaughtered by muslims. So in other words, bro Al Ansari must choose other products.
Reply

Al Ansari
08-29-2009, 04:49 PM
as salaamu 'alaikum brothers and sisters,

Some ahadith on the importance of being nourished by halal sources:


Abu Hurairah RA related,” Allah's Messenger PBUH said: Verily Allah is pure and He accepts only what is pure and indeed Allah has given those orders to the believers, which he has given to the Messengers. He has said, “O Messenger, eat from the pure foods and work righteous”. He -also- has said: “O you who have believed, eat from the pure things which we have provided you.” Then (the Prophet PBUH) made mention of a man who undergoes a lengthy journey in a state that he is dishevelled and dusty. He spreads his hands towards the sky (calling), “O my lord, O my lord”, however his food is Haram, his drink is Haram, his clothes are Haram and he has been nourished with Haram! So how will his call be answered?” (Muslim)

S'ad RA relates: Allah's messenger PBUH said “O S'ad purify your food (and as a result) you will become one who's supplications are accepted. I swear by He in whose hands the soul of Muhammad PBUH lies, verily a servant (of Allah) tosses a Haram morsel in his stomach (due to which) no deed is accepted from him for 40 days” (Tabarani)

Abu Baker RA narrated that Allah's Messenger PBUH said “That body will not enter Paradise which has been nourished with Haram” (Baihaqi)

Ka`b Ibn Ujrah relates that the Prophet of Allah (PBUH) said, “a body nourished with Haram will not enter Jannah”. (Tirmidhi)

Jabir RA reported, Allah's Messenger PBUH said, “That flesh will not enter Paradise which has grown from Haram, and all that flesh which has grown from Haram, the fire (of hell) is more worthy of it.” (Ahmed, Darimi, Baihaqi)

Abu Hurayrah (RA) reports that the Prophet of Allah (PBUH) said, “a time will come upon the people wherein a man will not bother what he intakes; whether from Halal source or Haram.” (Bukhari)

Still on the search and have searched previous thread on this forum. Please read:

http://http://www.islamicboard.com/n...ine-halal.html

I see also that the scholars differ on this issue. More research.


Foods produced in the West, such as gelatin
http://http://www.islam-qa.com/en/ref/210

Is gelatin haram? Which types are not haram?
http://http://islam.tc/ask-imam/view.php?q=83



Islamic Ruling on Gelatin

http://http://www.islamonline.net/se...EAskTheScholar

Wa Allaah Alim
Reply

Al Ansari
08-29-2009, 04:55 PM
Originally Posted by ardianto
Beef gelatine is halal if the cow was slaughtered in Islamic rule.

But I think beef gelatine that produced in non-muslim countries are not halal because the cow was not slaughtered by muslims. So in other words, bro Al Ansari must choose other products.

as salaamu 'alaikum,

JazakAllaah Khayr for the response. Interestingly, if the animal is not slaughtered according to Islaamic standards that would make the meat haraam, correct?

Then the best things for Muslims who do not have animals to slaughter themselves or have access to a Muslim butcher, must then abstain from all meat and all products that are derived from that meat, correct?

Wa Allaah alim.
Reply

ardianto
08-29-2009, 06:19 PM
Originally Posted by Al Ansari

Then the best things for Muslims who do not have animals to slaughter themselves or have access to a Muslim butcher, must then abstain from all meat and all products that are derived from that meat, correct?
And become vegetarian ?.

In my place is very easy to find halal meat, but I have heard someone asked to ustadz.
"When I am in a non-muslim country, should I eat vegetables only ?, because I cannot find a halal meat ?".
And the ustadz replied "Eat fish".

Fishes and other sea/water creatures don't need to slaughtered according to Islamic standart.
Reply

Nσσя'υℓ Jαииαн
08-29-2009, 07:14 PM
I can't answer your question but I dislike pop tarts :hmm: Never liked it, so I don't have to worry :statisfie
Reply

Hidaya
08-30-2009, 03:05 AM
I've always wanted to eat Poptarts..but because of the gelatin, it's a no no.

Ah, well. There's always some other junk to snack on =)
Reply

Rasema
08-30-2009, 06:47 PM
Originally Posted by Hidaya
I've always wanted to eat Poptarts..but because of the gelatin, it's a no no.

Ah, well. There's always some other junk to snack on =)
Lol, all junk could be haram since Allah says in the Qur'an that everything that's bad for us, it's haram.

Don't listen to me though, because I'm not sure to what I say.
Reply

aadil77
08-30-2009, 06:58 PM
Originally Posted by Rasema
Lol, all junk could be haram since Allah says in the Qur'an that everything that's bad for us, it's haram.

Don't listen to me though, because I'm not sure to what I say.
no that doesn't make it haram because it doesn't seriously effect the health like say smoking or drugs

eating anything in excess can be unhealthy
Reply

Rasema
08-30-2009, 07:06 PM
Originally Posted by aadil77
no that doesn't make it haram because it doesn't seriously effect the health like say smoking or drugs

eating anything in excess can be unhealthy
May Allah reward you for correcting and informing me.
Reply

Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
Sign Up

IslamicBoard

Experience a richer experience on our mobile app!