/* */

PDA

View Full Version : People need to be nicer to new muslims

AnonymousPoster
08-30-2009, 07:15 PM
:sl:

I am new to practicing islam and one thing that always bothered me and kept me away from it for a long time was the way i was treated by my fellow muslims. The area i live in, most of the muslims are asian or middle eastern or african. They did not welcome me in any way, in fact when i first tried to attend masjid, a group of pakistani girls picked on me. One of them picked on how i was dressed even though im sure it was proper, she just didnt think i was "stylish". I didnt have a shawlar kameez like they did, its not my culture so i didnt have any of that. i only had a long skirt and sweater and hijab.
another girl from that group told me since i dont know how to pray i should just go home and watch tv because theres no point in me going to masjid
i was going there to learn!
it made me very sad and hurt and i didnt go for a while after that, i stayed home and learned at home what i could...but i still wanted badly to meet fellow practicing muslims

now that im more confident in islam, i go to masjid, but still most the people there they dont try to talk to me they dont try to befriend me and it makes me sad. i try to smile and talk to some of the women there but they only reply a little and then ignore me and talk to the people they know.
this is no good! how am i gonna be able to feel good about being muslim if no muslim treats me good? its not nice!
last friday i went and i tried to talk to some of the girls my age, they started talking arabic to each other and i felt very uncomfortable, then they walked away to get ice cream and they did not invite me.