/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Greetings, all

Soul-Searching
09-05-2009, 03:17 PM
Salaam alaykum wa rahmatullah wa barakatuhu!

I wasn't sure where to post this, but I think here should suffice.
I am a 17 year old from the UK who wishes to convert to Islam. However I am not yet sure of some things, such as how to perform wudu and salat... and also, how do I find out which direction to pray in?

I have been considering conversion/reversion for several months now, but every time I think of my parents and how unhappy it would make them (as they are atheists), I bottle out. This is an extremely cowardly excuse, I know, and insha'Allah I will find the strength to be honest with them soon. But I love them so much, and just don't want them to treat me any differently. The same goes for my friends, and the rest of my family.

However my immediate concern is finding someone willing to teach me the prayers. Everything else should fall into place after that.
Anyway please don't hesitate to share any thoughts or advice you have. :)

Peace, brothers and sisters

-Amy

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
ژاله
09-05-2009, 03:27 PM
Welcome to IB Amy, good to have you here. MashaAllah Allah has showed you the right path, walillahil hamd. we pray in the direction of Ka'ba, just find out if its in north, south, east or west of uk lol. you can find all the information here inshaAllah. i am a born muslim so i dont know much about how to deal with parents, friends etc, but we have a good number of revert brothers and sisters here who can guide you in this regard.
Welcome to Islam:) and welcome aboard. enjoy ur stay!

Al Ansari
09-05-2009, 03:34 PM
Wa 'alaikum as salaam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh,

bismillah,

First I would like to say that, insh'Allaah you have come to a great place to get advice. The brothers and sisters on the forum are very open-minded and honest in their views.