/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu / Linux users?

Mohamed_
10-18-2009, 11:36 AM
Salam Aleykum,
I switched from Windows XP to Ubuntu 9.04 yesterday. Well... I like it much better than Windows. And I'm new to Linux-based operation systems, I have not used any in the past. So if someone of you could help me, especially about the terminal that could be a big help!

Before I installed Ubuntu, I was reading some forums about how to run Windows compatible programs on Linux, I read it's can be done... So what, I installed Ubuntu... And fast opened Firefox to seek up how to do that...
Well, I totally was in that dream there is some format to install programs like the .exe works on Windows. Then I had to 'wake up', it's different on Ubuntu... But by this I could learn new things about Linux-based OSs. But then I did everything successfully and works that 'emulator', named 'wine' works fine.

So I'd like to get some help from you to teach me the basics about Ubuntu. I can give you my MSN address in a PM. Please, who can help me, be live in the Europe, because of the time zones... I'd not like to sit infront of my PC at about 2:00 am. :)

So anyone of you uses Ubuntu or Linux-based OS then please help me!

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
gang4
10-18-2009, 03:02 PM
format_quote Originally Posted by Mohamed_
Salam Aleykum,
I switched from Windows XP to Ubuntu 9.04 yesterday. Well... I like it much better than Windows. And I'm new to Linux-based operation systems, I have not used any in the past. So if someone of you could help me, especially about the terminal that could be a big help!

Before I installed Ubuntu, I was reading some forums about how to run Windows compatible programs on Linux, I read it's can be done... So what, I installed Ubuntu... And fast opened Firefox to seek up how to do that...