/* */

PDA

View Full Version : The Muslim Experience in Western Healthcare

Misty
12-06-2009, 06:21 PM
Greetings :statisfie

As a nursing student, I am taking a class labeled "Cultural Diversity in Healthcare". The main idea behind this class is to make healthcare in western society more accessible to people of different cultures, as it tends to be geared towards western people.

One of the major problems we see in the healthcare system is a lack of understanding of other cultures, and poor communication that results from it. Ultimately, the best thing would be to provide an environment where the patient is comfortable and feels respected. Of the many questions I might ask, I have a few that I think are important.

What would be the proper way for a woman to address a man, and vice versa?

In western culture, we use a handshake and make a lot of eye contact. Would that be appropriate with a muslim client? The rules for personal space can vary significantly from one culture to the next.

Has anyone had any experiences within the Western Healthcare system that they would like to discuss? Is there any way to make the experience of going to the doctor more comfortable?

I don't mean to be intrusive, but I would like to give my patients the most beneficial healthcare when I begin to practice nursing. I sincerely thank you for any input.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
HaMZaH393
12-06-2009, 06:36 PM
as for muslim(i mean doctors) in my opinion, when there's a patient who is apparently a woman, then, it's more appropriate for another woman doctor to address her and vice versa.

so, if a woman patient wants to feel comfortable, she should ask for a female doctor to examine her.

but, sometimes there's a situation when a man doctor can address a female patient such as when there's a shortage of female doctor or something like that.

my answer maybe not so helpful as i don't have much experience.

but maybe there are other people wants to discuss?