Mr.President
12-27-2009, 08:07 PM
we all know that taking photos and building statues are prohibited in islam

then making or developing robos also haram ? :hmm:

lil confused pls help !?

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
zakirs
12-27-2009, 08:11 PM
I believe it depends on the purpose. IF you are making a robot to use in medicine or operations then it would be fine. But if you are making a human clone for fun.. isn't that same as making a statue albeit a moving one

Mr.President
12-27-2009, 08:15 PM
yea ur argument is correct its like we use pictures for passports since it is required but we don't take pix for memories !!! tx zakir bhai

btw gud sigi :)

edit : if robotics is nessery then we can use if not its like making statues ryt ?

zakirs
12-27-2009, 08:17 PM
Thank you president sahab :) ..I am a mechanical engineer too and my under grad project is a pipe climbing robot.Its purpose is to climb pipes for inspection and it doesn't have a face or hands .. :P . So i guess its halal :S ..

here is a defenitive answer from islam-qa.
Praise be to Allaah.

Making a robot comes under the ruling on image-making. To sum up, if the machine is made in the shape of a man or an animate being, that is forbidden, and comes under the stern warning that is issued to those who make images and try to imitate the creation of Allaah. It will be said to them on the Day of Resurrection: “Give life to that which you have created.” It also comes under the words of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him): “Those who will be most severely punished on the Day of Resurrection will be the image-makers.” (Narrated by al-Bukhaari, no. 5606; Muslim, 2109.

But if the machine is not in the form of an animate being or is incomplete and would not be taken as a human being or animate creature, there is nothing wrong with that.