/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Debt and Marriage

major_zero
12-28-2009, 04:43 PM
Salam-u-Alaikum.

I have a simple question. I am a third year university student and so far accumalated debt as a result from taking a school loan. I realize the severity of this situation I am in and I know that this can lead to possible future interest and other sins.

However, marriage is encouraged in Islam. Since I have one more year left at school, should I at least wait until I graduate or pay of the debt.

Your advise (from an Islamic standpoint) would be greatly appreciated . Please refrain from giving any advise that is based on your own opinion.

Thank you.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Hamza Asadullah
12-28-2009, 08:20 PM
format_quote Originally Posted by major_zero
Salam-u-Alaikum.

I have a simple question. I am a third year university student and so far accumalated debt as a result from taking a school loan. I realize the severity of this situation I am in and I know that this can lead to possible future interest and other sins.

However, marriage is encouraged in Islam. Since I have one more year left at school, should I at least wait until I graduate or pay of the debt.

Your advise (from an Islamic standpoint) would be greatly appreciated . Please refrain from giving any advise that is based on your own opinion.

Thank you.
Asalaamu Alaikum Wr Wb, since Islam discourages usury(Interest) as it is seen as a war against Allah, it would be far better to pay it off now than to accumalate more and more interest and end up having to pay much more interest than if you had paid it off earlier. Clear the debt as quickly as possible brother because death can come at any second and we should be debt free when we die. Ask of Allah to help you clear your debts and to find you the means to marry as soon as you finish education inshallah.

major_zero
12-29-2009, 01:56 PM
Jazakalluh khayr

Cabdullahi
12-29-2009, 04:19 PM