/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Nurse Patient relationship

Taqiyah
12-29-2009, 01:51 AM
Asalaam Alaikum..

So I am a Nursing Student and I have my clinical work done at a huge hospital and there are barely any Muslim health care workers or patients over there. I honestly been to every department and never met any Muslim and also there are barely any black/Latino workers/patients it is just soo not diverseimsadimsad...it is really sad but the weird part is as a Nurse I am not suppose to discuss personal matters with patients...I have to remain professional at all time but honestly it is a little hard when all my patients are staring at me like I am from another planet and wondering why I have a scarf on my head. They ask so many personal questions like were I am from, when I came there, why I decided to work in this hospital, what my believes are, what my views are on sensitive subjects:heated::heated:It gets a little too hard to change the subject every time. Some of them are plain rude and some feel they have to treat me extra special or pity me:heated:I honestly hate when they act all sweet to me and rude to my colleagues just because I happen to be from a difference race or have a different faith...that really annoys me more than it make me feel comfortable. What can I possibly do to avoid giving personal information and answering sensitive questions without being rude? Like I try to get them talking but they are just interested in me so much for some weird reason!:heated::heated:It is not fun at all..:p

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
cat eyes
12-29-2009, 02:35 PM