/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Will i burn in hell?

theforsaken
01-04-2010, 05:51 AM
Well, hello... english is not my native language so i'm sorry if I got orthographic or grammar errors.
I'm atheist, at least for now, because none of the religions I learnt really convinced me. I must confess, I am 100% ignorant about islam, that's why im here.
A little bit of background:
I was risen as a christian in a christian orphanage.
When I rechead the age to be able to start reasoning, around 12 years old, I started rejecting the christian religion as I started learning about science and the scientific method, and rejected the existence of god and the virgin birth of jesus.
Also, I was unable to accept that there is a all loving god that allows all the misery and war of the world to happen.
Especially when christian religion tells us that only believers will get eternal life while non believers will burn in hell. I asked to the Brother of Mary (a volunteer in the orphanage from the Marists Brothers) not so long ago: "If I try to be as righteous as possible, if I help everyone I can, I refrain from committing sin and feel sorry because of committing it, and if I follow the teachings of the bible and the teachings of jesus, but I didn't believed while living: will I be able to get the eternal life in the company of the lord?"
The answer was "No, if you don't believe you will be punished in hell".
I am not able to believe in a god that will send good, innocent people to hell because of not feeding his ego. That is not perfect at all, and christians believe that their god is perfect.
I made a pact with my brain, it was "Until science can explain all the universe without any flaws at all, i will refrain from analysing theological facts scientifically. I recently learnt that islam also teaches about jesus and his virgin birth, at least for the moment, I am ready to accept and believe in any miracle as long as the philosophy of the religion does not disturb me.