/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Working for UBS

Ali_008
03-10-2010, 02:06 PM
:sl:
I found out that there is vacancy in USB and its a leading financial services company and I'm planning to apply for it. Just wanted to know if its halal to work there. As far as I know, the job profile's gonna be related to BPO, KPO and Business Development. I'll try to post any updates that I get here. Your thoughts are welcome and appreciated.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Sampharo
03-11-2010, 01:34 PM
It is not halal to work at an institution that takes interest earning as part of its business and earning, even if your work is not related to the interest bearing or earning accounts.

See: http://www.islamqa.com/en/ref/21113/

"Question: I work in a bank in a particular country, in a department that does not deal with riba-based transactions, but the central bank does deal with interest and it is a government foundation. What is the ruling on working in this bank? I hope you can advise me

Answer: Praise be to Allaah. Your working in this bank is haraam, even if you are in a department which does not deal with riba-based transactions. It is sufficient to note that the “central bank” is the head bank and working in the other departments complements the work of the sections that do deal with riba; the bank is formed from all the departments and all the institutions connected to it are engaged in riba.
The scholars have stated that it is not permissible to work even as a guard or driver for such institutions, so how about working as a teller or clerk?