/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Problems with in-laws and dowry

xsmilesx
04-06-2010, 11:00 PM
:sl:

Lately, i am very hurt, upset and confused. I have recently been married and am living with my husbands parents and i do not like the atmosphere that is there in their house as me and my husband are the only two people that pray or practice Islam properly.
It gets awkward because i am 7 months pregnant and we were given the smallest room in the house where i cannot imagine how a cot could possible fit there. My husband has 4 other brothers living there who are fully grown and his mother has problems communicating with me, she never makes conversation but jus wants me to do the housework (which i willingly do to help her) but always wants me to dress up and greet her friends which i do not like to do as i do not like wearing anything i am not comfortable in and also i do not always have the time as i am a full time student too.
She is always asking where i am going and what time i am going to be back. She also suggested that i cut down on my hours in university, which i do not want to do as i am trying to educate myself and bring a better future for myself and my family. When me and my husband go out (once in a blue moon), we get told off for being late (latest = 11pm) but when he goes out with his friends, he doesn't get enquired about.