/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Yet Another New Member

DataPacRat
05-01-2010, 11:03 PM
Hello and Peace;

I've been using computers since 1980, the name 'DataPacRat' since 2001, and live in the Niagara region of Canada.

I'm not a Muslim - some of the terms I have used to describe myself include rationalist, skeptic, freethinker, empiricist, scientist, materialist, naturalist, secular humanist, igtheistic ignostic, libertarian monarchist, and, yes, atheist. If you wish to try to convert me, feel free, and I will do my best to read what you write and respond politely and rationally; however, before you make any such attempt, you should be aware that my atheism is based on a particular piece of evidence - that I have never found any reliable evidence that any form of the supernatural exists - and the logical principles of Russell's Teapot and Occam's Razor, and it seems unlikely I will be converted without encountering some reasonable evidence that the supernatural exists.

I am here not in hopes of converting or being converted, but of learning what I can about Islam and Muslims, and answering any questions asked of me and responding to any misunderstandings of my beliefs which I notice are mentioned.

I can't seem to find the option to edit a signature - I'm guessing that it will appear after I've passed some probationary period. Below is what I plan for my signature to be, unless images are allowed, in which case I will replace the quote with the same words in non-Latin characters. A rough translation into English is '"(skepticism) Why should I believe that?" is the most important question.'. If I am able to have a custom avatar, I intend for it to be the second word, ".iacu'i", which means, roughly, "the emotion on the neutral point halfway between belief and disbelief", in non-Latin characters, which roughly resembles .i'dlj and can be seen as my avatar at ummah . com.

Thank you for your time,
--
DataPacRat