/* */

PDA

View Full Version : How do you introduce yourself effectively?

جوري
06-23-2010, 03:48 PM
:sl:

I am painfully painfully shy.. today I had to speak briefly to a group of orthopedic surgeons.. I thought I was going to die-- it was so intimidating .. I couldn't even take my heart pills to calm down from how dry my mouth and anxious my thoughts..

pls. briefly write here for me how you introduce yourself briefly and effectively to an audience so you can segue into your topic comfortably when you are a guest speaker and know no one in the audience..

just put the introductions bit in a beautiful way so I can practice it because I find that more difficult to discuss than any topic..

Jazakoum Allah khyran

:w:

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Alpha Dude
06-23-2010, 04:04 PM
Hi, my name is {n}. I currently work as a {profession} at {workplace}. I have been working there for {x} many years and my area of specialty includes {xyz}. Prior to working at {workplace}, I was at a place called {xyz} where I did {xyz stuff}. I did my undergrauduate in {course name} at {x} university and graduated way back in 200X. I am very to be given the opportunity to speak here today <brief smile as you glance around at the audience>.

Right, now moving on to the topic at hand..

جوري
06-23-2010, 04:19 PM
Jazaka Allah khyran.. that is beautiful.. let me take that down...
Today I couldn't speak past the loud thuds of my heart in my ears, I was so out of breath just starting from how fast it was beating...and the guy who introduced me had to do most of the talking on my behalf... (imagine that, I just wanted to cry) also considering he couldn't pronounce my name correctly bwahahaha.. and when he said I am a native New Yorker, only to be corrected by me telling him and the audience that not only am I not a native NY and that my mother tongue is Arabic, silence just fell on the place.. I didn't take it in a good way! :lol: