/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Muslim judicial system

Darth Ultor
08-14-2010, 03:06 PM
I was wondering, how is the system set up? Say in a criminal case, how is justice applied? Is the accused presumed innocent or guilty? Do you need a certain amount of witnesses? I know in a murder case, if the accused is convicted, the family may spare his life, but what happens after that? Does he go free or do they put him in prison? What if the crime was a sin like apostasy or shirk? Can his life be spared?

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
greenshirt
10-05-2010, 08:13 PM
Asalaamu Alaikum

It is very unfortunete that no one has responded to this thread because the justice system in Islam is really what made the Islamic Caliphate so amazing. It should also be realized that there are some similarities with Jewish judicial system and Islamic and even Islamic and the West.

With regards to your questions please understand I am a layman and not a scholar. I can't guarantee the validity of my answers and I dont quite have proof to back it up except from what I have heard is the general consensus.

format_quote Originally Posted by Boaz
how is the system set up? Say in a criminal case, how is justice applied? Is the accused presumed innocent or guilty? Do you need a certain amount of witnesses?
The accused will not be punished in any way until he or she has had a trial. This implies the rule innocent until proven guilty because they have a right to speak and give their side before any action is done.

And depending on the case will depend on if witnesses are needed or not. With regards to fornication or adultery a minimum of 4 witnesses is needed. Their character is all taken into consideration. Although it isnt impossible for someone to be punished for fornication or adultery , it is very rare. Because not only does Islam require 4 witnesses but Islam also highly values privacy. So let us have an example scenario