/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Do you think it's okay for me to do this?

AlwaysIslam
09-07-2010, 11:08 PM
I've been reading the English translated Quran. The one where the arabic words are sounded out in English so one who does not speak Arabic as a native language can pronounce the words in arabic. So I read the surah's in the english letters and then read the meaning so I can understand what I am reading. Do you think Allah will still give me credit for reading the Quran even though I am not reading the Arabic letters? I am just worried that if I read the Arabic only I will make mistakes. I am still learning to read Arabic and am not fluent in it.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Muslim Woman
09-08-2010, 03:58 PM
Salaam sis

try to learn Arabic . U can use a copy where both the Arabic and English words with meaning are available. If u have any doubt , then u can check it with English sounds.

AlwaysIslam
09-08-2010, 10:08 PM
Alright Jazak Allah Khair sis =) Tonight when I read Quran I will first attempt to read the Arabic with the English pronunciations on the side. Just if I have any doubt that is ^_^. I think I would feel like I accomplished more if I read in the language Allah gave his word.
format_quote Originally Posted by Muslim Woman
Salaam sis

try to learn Arabic . U can use a copy where both the Arabic and English words with meaning are available. If u have any doubt , then u can check it with English sounds.

Ummu Sufyaan
09-09-2010, 05:59 AM
:sl:
im not sure about the answer to your actual question, but i will advise you not to take "short cuts" when learning how to read the Quran/learning Arabic.

1) the quran is in Arabic not transliterated English :]
2) you may learn a word in the transliterated English which may stay stuck and may cause you difficulties later on if/when you actually learn the proper way of pronouncing it.