/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Salam alaykum

Amoeba
09-19-2010, 12:25 PM
I am 21 years old and I converted to islam a month ago. I live with my grandmother. My family are all non-muslim. I don't like television and when it's on it drives me nuts. I am still learning how to pray and I am having trouble remembering how to do it, what to say and what it means. It's been a month now and I'm still not getting it.

I also like fruit. My favourite fruit is pomegranate but it's so messy that I rarely eat it.

Sometimes I feel so inferior about Allah that I can't even bring myself to communicate with Him because I feel so small and undeserving of any good he has given me. Since I said my shahada I haven't been a good muslim and have gained so many sins since and next to no good deeds. *sigh* I feel depressed. :cry: And I'm so lazy and unmotivated.

I wish I could move away and start afresh with no distractions under the guidance of someone who knows islam inside out.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Alpha Dude
09-19-2010, 12:39 PM
Wa alaykum salam sister,

Welcome. Try and take one step at a time.

We all sin. Prophet Muhammad Sallalahu Alaihe Wasalam (peace be upon him) has said the best of sinners is the one who repents. Allah has created us a nation of sinners. Use your sins to remain humble and ask for forgiveness. Allah is All Merciful and he would readily accept your repentence if you are sincere.

Try live in a balance of hope and fear. Hope that Allah will forgive you for everything but don't let it be to the extent that you become complacent. Fear Allah but don't take it to extremes. Strike a balance.

We are told that if you go walking toward Allah he comes running toward you. Be sincere and talk to him from your heart whilst you make dua (supplicate).

Sometimes I feel so inferior about Allah that I can't even bring myself to communicate with Him because I feel so small and undeserving of any good he has given me.