/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Hello from the Ivory Tower

coolAcademe
10-14-2010, 03:44 PM
Hi, I'm a student at UC Berkeley, currently studying middle eastern history (which is the best name they can really give it even though "Middle East" really isn't well defined). I am personally an atheist, I'm sure that everyone here can respect me as a person even if we don't agree :)

I'm mostly here to get a perspective on Islam from as many Muslims of different backgrounds I can find. I have a basic academic view, a view that I inherited when I was still a fundamentalist Christian, but I don't have a view from Muslims themselves.

(if you're not familiar with the phrase, "Ivory Tower" is often a name given, often not in the most respectful sense, to universities)

Michael/coolAcademe

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
coolAcademe
10-14-2010, 03:45 PM
Oh, and of course, if I say something inappropriate or not polite, let me know. I will try my best to remain in everyones good graces :)

جوري
10-14-2010, 03:49 PM
:welcome: aboard and enjoy your stay.. we have a quite the vocal atheists on board so even if you can't find much in common with the Muslims, I am sure you'll feel otherwise at home..

all the best

Dagless
10-14-2010, 03:54 PM
Welcome, and I hope you find what you're looking for.

Welcome, Guest!
Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
Ğħαrєєвαħ
10-14-2010, 04:06 PM
Welcome coolAcademe

Hope you enjoy your stay here and learn about the teachings of the beautiful way of Life Islaam!

Peace

PouringRain
10-14-2010, 04:25 PM
Welcome to the forum.

marwen
10-14-2010, 07:12 PM
format_quote Originally Posted by coolAcademe
Hello from the Ivory Tower
Welcome from the underworld !
;b