/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Need help

anonymous
10-23-2010, 11:03 PM
Asslamu Aliakum

I am studying Islam and I came across an Arabic word. I am having difficulty understanding what it means.

What does idriboo mean in English? Every time I translate, I get several meanings such as beat or scorch or tap.

I'm not sure which is the correct translation.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Hamza Asadullah
10-24-2010, 12:56 AM
Hello there your questions are most welcome. Are you talking about verse 4:34 by any chance? The correct meaning of Idriboo in the context of this verse is to to cite/propound, declare/mention, put/show forth, point out or indicate and not to beat or scorch.

If you have any further questions then please do not hesitate to ask. Thank you

And Allah knows best in all matters

Woodrow
10-24-2010, 09:09 AM
It is nearly impossible to translate Arabic on a single word basis. It takes a minimum of a full sentence to grasp the context and from that under stand the meaning. In Arabic it is often best to think of a word as being just a single letter, and the full sentence as being the actual word. Arabic is usually better understood when words are written joined as if they were a single word. The concept of single word translations does not coincide with the English concept of translation.

'Abd-al Latif
10-24-2010, 09:32 AM
format_quote Originally Posted by anonymous
Asslamu Aliakum

I am studying Islam and I came across an Arabic word. I am having difficulty understanding what it means.

What does idriboo mean in English? Every time I translate, I get several meanings such as beat or scorch or tap.

I'm not sure which is the correct translation.
I assume the word you are referring to is إضربوا, the root word which is da-ra-ba ضرب . This word originally means to hit or strike but the meaning can slightly change depending upon its context. The word is just a variation of the root word.