/* */

PDA

View Full Version : OK for Christian to perform Salah? (+ other questions)

Max-DC
11-22-2010, 01:38 PM
Hi everyone,

I was wondering how approptiate you all think it would be for a Christian to perform the salah, or even just to pray in the salah format. I think its a really beautiful way to remember God and keep him in your heart throughout the day, and I also desire a way to physically express my love and graditude to God physically, using my body. I have some questions though; I know the prayers have to be in Arabic, and I want to be able to fully understand what I am praying, etc. But stıll, I respect Islam a lot and wish to learn more about it.

That is the short version lol, here is a bit of backstory:
---------------------
I am an American college student studying abroad in Turkey. I am here for the whole year. I was raised in a conservative church as a child but when I was 15-16 I left my parent's church and joined a more liberal one that was more accepting of other faiths and religions (Episcopalian). At this new church I felt very at home with the other members and priests, and I went to church every Sunday and became what you would call quite observant, even though my new church didn't have many set rules in stone. Still, it became like my second home.

Unfortunately when I went off to college in a different city I could not find another church that was exactly like my old one, where I felt at home. (Even inside the same denomination or sect, many Christian churches can be quite different from one another.) I admit that I stopped going to church and slept in on Sundays, even though whenever I went back home I would always go back every Sunday to my own church. I think what added to the problem is that my college friends, even though I wouldn't change a thing about them, are mostly athiest, agnostic, or non-religious. So I had nobody to talk about God or faith with for several years after high school.