/* */

PDA

View Full Version : What languages would you like to learn, and why?

Tyrion
12-11-2010, 01:05 AM
Okay, so I'm kinda tired of having my threads closed for no reason, so I figured I should just stick to really innocent topics like this, for a while. So here goes... What languages would you guys like to learn before you die, and why? (Also, what languages do you already know?)

Heres my list of language I'd like to learn:

1.) Arabic - Because it's just a really awesome language with tons of depth, and also because it's tied so closely to Islam. I would absolutely love to understand the Qur'an in it's original Arabic as well. I'm currently in my first year of studying the language, and I'm loving it. I'm mostly just interested in formal Arabic, and I don't have that much of an inclination to learn Dialectical... Maybe one day though, if I end up going to an Arabic speaking country.

2.) Farsi/Dari - This is the language of my parents, and while I have a very basic knowledge of the language (enough to have simple conversations with family) I wouldn't consider myself totally literate. What I do know is very informal, and my reading/writing isn't very strong. It might be difficult to learn this formally though, since most classes here only focus on Iranian Farsi, which is essentially the same language, but I find the accent too weird. I'll probably just ask my parents to review it with me whenever we have some free time.

3.) Japanese - I've already taken one semesters worth of classes in Japanese, and I find the language and culture really interesting. Also, growing up I was really into Japanese video games, cartoons/anime and books/comics... (Still kinda am I guess ) I would love to go to Japan one day, so I might continue studying the language by myself.