/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Beating knife crime

jimbo123
12-26-2010, 02:02 AM
It really makes me sick how every time I read the news, there is a story about youth stabbings. A lot of the time it's over something trivial, like standing up to a hoodie who is picking on the elderly or chucking litter on your car.

The worst thing about this is that people are afraid to act. When you see something terrible happen you have to right a wrong but these days people are terrified that if they stand up to anyone they'll get stabbed or beaten to death. My mother tells me "Just ignore these people and they'll go away otherwise they might harass us". It is sensible advice but what are the consequences? Sooner or later that gang will go on to do worse things.

To deal with knife crime in my own life and to minimize it on a national level, Islamically what is the best course of action to take?

I take self defense classes. I'm still a beginner so if I was in a situation with 4 big lads I would run like the roadrunner! But if I was with my mum or my nephew or any other loved one, running isn't really an option. My view is that if every single person learnt self defense in school (maybe as part of the curriculum) we would have less of these kind of crimes.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Perseveranze
12-26-2010, 04:40 PM
Asalaamu Alaikum,

Well brother, this reminds me of a certain hadith;

The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him) said: “Whoever among you sees an evil action, let him change it with his hand [by taking action]; and if he cannot, then with his tongue [by speaking out]; and if he cannot, then with his heart [by feeling that it is wrong] – and that is the weakest of faith.” (Narrated by Muslim, 49)