/* */

PDA

View Full Version : NooB with lots of questions

qoheleth
12-31-2010, 07:22 PM
Greetings,

I just want to start by saying that I am currently a sometimes practicing Orthodox Christian. I was Baptized into the faith merely three years ago. I feel that many people in that faith are very close to God... closer than most Christians. However, after years of praying to Jesus I just feel I can't pray to a man anymore. The Trinity has confused the hell out of me. So what do I do? I believe in God because I've had some pretty incredible experiences that I attribute to God and which have had me on a lifelong search for my creator. Never in my wildest dreams would I have thought to consider Islam... until I started reading the Quran about a year ago. Also, I live down the street from my only city's mosque. I want to go in sometimes, but am not sure how to approach it.

The thing I love about Islam is tawhid! And the fact that Jesus, who I've always sort of viewed as one of God's prophets, is still loved by Muslims. And the fact that there are no intermediaries between man and his Creator. I do have many, many questions, though. Here are just a few to get started with. If anyone can help clear some things up for me, I'd really appreciate it.

1) If all things happen because Allah wills it, then even terrible atrocities (like child abuse, war, rape, or disease) are to be attributed to God? I am not sure I understand how Muslims view evil in the world if all things come from Allah... can anyone explain? Am I correct in understanding that Islam rejects the Fall of Judaism and Christianity?

2) Also, could a guy (like me) even become Muslim if my wife is not a Christian, Jew, or Muslim (and doesn't plan on becoming one anytime soon)?

3) Does one have to learn Arabic to really get to know the Quran? Also, I heard there are different 'levels' of meaning in the Quran... how does one learn the more subtle or less obvious meanings?