/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Anyone know a good mosque in Washington, DC area?

Max-DC
02-04-2011, 08:04 PM
Hi everyone,

I'm an college student from America who is studying abroad for the year in Turkey. (And maybe if God wills it, I will end up moving there.) I was born Christian and I still hold a lot of affection in my heart for Jesus/Christianity, but I have become really interested in Islam since arriving in Istanbul. I have made lots of great Turkish friends who have taught me a lot about Islam, how to pray salah, etc. I am currently learning more, you can read this thread of mine about it in the "Discover Islam" forum if you want.

I'm visiting my family in America for two weeks and I really want to attend an English-language Friday sermon while I still have the chance. I am in Houston for one week visiting family, and I found a brother who was gonna drive me to a Turkish mosque here, but unfortunately the roads iced over and the highways were shut down Friday morning. :(

I will be in DC next week to see college friends, and I will try to go to the Friday sermon at the Islamic Center of Washington there. However, I have heard varying things about it, so if there are any Muslims in the DC area I was wondering if you could please give me reccomendations, or talk about and describe the different masjids in the area so I can decide which one to go to.

Obviously I would like one with an English-language sermon, but I also have another minor, shallow request: it would be nice to feel like I fit in when I visit an American mosque.
Ironically, in Turkey most everyone thinks I am Turkish (a pale Turk from the northern region near Georgia) and thus I feel totally comfortable. But in America this is much less likely to happen....and I am guessing there are no Turkish mosques in the DC area. =) My worst fear is some innocent young boy staring at me with his mouth open during a sermon, haha.