/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Learning Arabic..am I moving too fast?

Mus Din
04-22-2011, 03:09 PM
Asalaamu Alaikum Brothers and Sisters...

I am a new practising Muslim (born to Turkish parents who do not practise) so I am fairly new to everything.

I have learned to do salah in arabic, and a couple of suras. I really want to learn Qu'ran in Arabic, however my local Masjid only does classes for kids, and there is a small Muslim community here with not many new reverts.

I just wondered if learning how to pronounce suras and knowing how to say them and the meaning from translation books is an effective way? Does anyone else do it this way? I have also discovered some online programs where you can hear them being recited in Arabic.

Or, should I learn the arabic alphabet first?

bit confused lol and I wish I could know everything!! I am aware of 'crashing and burning' though!

I will move back to London inshallah next year,where there are alot of tajweed classes when my studies are finished in the place I live now.

just wanted some advice really, and am I moving to fast?

jazak Allah Khair

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
- Qatada -
04-23-2011, 10:30 AM
:salamext:

Brother Mus Din :) learn the arabic alphabet first. That will be better for you insha' Allah. Gradually work your way up. And that will sink in better insha' Allah.

Ubeyde
04-23-2011, 11:22 AM
Salaam

Learn the Alphabet first, then the Tajweed i.e. the Rules of how to recite correctly- as this is vitally important. Also, there are many, many effective ways of memorizing the Quran. One way for reverts which is popular is to use Transliteration of the Holy Qur'an and to listen to reciters and write down what they hear. Isa Allah ta'ala will make it easy for you. Also brother there shouldn't really be a problem to recite with the kids at your local masjid or madrasa if you explain to them you re new, in fact they would be extremely pleased to help you.

Allah Aleem

Ramadhan