/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Prayers, work and sleep in summer

bintYahya
05-22-2011, 03:52 PM
Assalam alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakaatuh,

I live up north, in Finland, and we get plenty of sun here. The prayer times are stretched quite evenly throughout the day and thus there's not so much time to sleep.

I work as a nurse and usually work is physically tiring. The shifts are 7am-3pm, 1pm-9pm and 9pm-7am. After an evening shift, it's especially difficult to get enough sleep before the following morning shift because of the timings of maghrib, isha and fajr. I come home at 9.30pm and I have to wait for maghrib and isha before going to bed. Then I have to wake up for fajr in less than 3 hours (or at least by sunrise which is at 4.28am). I leave for work at 6.30am. I can't even imagine how I'm going to survive through Ramadhaan - no time to sleep if I want to eat at night and fast during the day.

Does anyone have any ideas how to combine Islam and life in these circumstances? I'm asking for help because I'm starting to feel burnt out and all of this is new to me as a revert. I don't want to give up.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Ramadhan
05-23-2011, 02:20 AM
:sl:

would it be possible for you if you set alarm clock on the prayer times?

So you come home, you sleep, then you wake up for maghrib and isya', then you go back to sleep, then you wake up for fajr, then you go back to sleep.
It may initially be hard, but after a few days you may adjust well to the timetable.

Try it first, and if you really cannot do it, maybe you can ask opinions from your local imam?

bintYahya
05-23-2011, 08:13 AM
I was initially thinking about what you suggested but I'm not so sure how I can manage sleep in 2 hour sets. I guess I'll have to try that out because it's better than no sleep at all. In sha Allah, I don't oversleep and miss prayers.