/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Where should the eyes be looking while praying?

Jalal~
06-10-2011, 02:00 AM
:sl:
i heard when standing, the eyes should be focused on the area of prostration, but does that apply during rukoo? is it ok if i close my eyes during prayer, because that helps me focus usually. Jazakallah Khair

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Who Am I?
06-10-2011, 12:34 PM
When standing, I usually look down at the floor (with maybe a quick glance sideways at the brothers next to me to see if I'm doing the motions right since I am still learning how to pray).

When prostrated, that is when I usually close my eyes and concentrate on Allah.

Now keep in mind that I am a new brother and as such, I am not the best source for this, so don't pay too much attention to me.

Innocent Soul
06-10-2011, 12:44 PM
Read this thread and you will get the answer.
http://www.islamicboard.com/search.php?searchid=2202

brmm
06-10-2011, 02:01 PM
Assalam alaikom,
Usually we look to our head/toes place and there is no need to close the eyes.

BRMM

Welcome, Guest!
Hey there! Looks like you're enjoying the discussion, but you're not signed up for an account.

When you create an account, you can participate in the discussions and share your thoughts. You also get notifications, here and via email, whenever new posts are made. And you can like posts and make new friends.
Ramadhan
06-13-2011, 06:49 AM
format_quote Originally Posted by halalmeat4free
is it ok if i close my eyes during prayer, because that helps me focus usually.
format_quote Originally Posted by Just a Guy
When prostrated, that is when I usually close my eyes and concentrate on Allah.
Don't close your eyes while praying. It is makrooh (shouldn't be done) to close your eyes while praying. Try to concentrate while keeping your eyes open. In fact when you close your eyes, how do you concentrate on Allah? it could lead you to ideas about Allah SWT etc.