/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Student loan

bintYahya
10-28-2011, 12:56 PM
:sl:

I pray and ask yet I'm so desperate about this.

I'm studying to become an RN. I live in Finland so there's no tuition. For the same reason I get about 240 euros per month.

However, in order to get by financially, it doesn't seem to be enough. But to get any further assistance, I'm required to use the loan that the government guarantees for eligible students. The max. amount per academic year (9 months) is 2 700 euros and only after that I can get other forms of assistance. This particular student loan is to be paid back after graduation, so not even a cent before that. But it's Finland, there are no interest-free loans, none. Interest is minimal but still forbidden in any case, as I've understood.

Also, I don't have family or relatives who would or could help me. Working while studying would be too stressful at this point considering my current health issues. And if this money problem continues, it means I have to live where I do now and that tends to become life-threatening.

Does anyone know a reliable opinion on what can be done in this kind of situation? Or could anyone PLEASE find out for me, ask an imam or scholar or whatever about this particular situation?

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
Uthman
10-28-2011, 01:30 PM
:wasalamex

This forum probably isn't the best place to ask these types of questions (though I hear we have a mufti on board these days?) Ideally, you would need to ask a qualified scholar in your locality who can be made fully aware of your exact circumstances and will take that into account to give you an appropriate fatwa (ruling). If that isn't possible, then if you're on Facebook at all, I would recommend asking the question on the page of Shaykh Abu Eesa Niamatullah. He is well known in the UK and he has a good knowledge of financial issues like this one as they relate to Islam. I trust him to give you the correct answer.