/* */

PDA

View Full Version : prayer help in dealing w/ prayer books

serena77
11-19-2011, 05:20 AM
Salaam to all
i have started doing salat and i'm still learning all the words though i've pretty much gotten the words where the different movements go, and so thats not a problem
when i can i use a book and whenever possible ( not often enough ) i use a YouTube video and the book i got which is called Muslim Daily Prayers. I had a few decent reviews and it was one of few choices i could find on amazon.

that said . The words don't always match ( on youtube prayer video's and in the book ) .... I am pretty sure it is a defect of the book, and i'm almost positive its not misreading/hearing something ... So is there a better book I should get - that hopefully is relatively in expensive? i was using the videos mainly for correcting my pronunciation but it isnt helping me if the words in the book are wrong and i just don't know how to know, but i don't want to learn the wrong thing and have to relearn something if i can help it.
Jak in advance
Serena

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
syed1
11-19-2011, 06:18 AM
Hello sister, I would recommend you go to your local mosque, find a practising muslim that you trust and request them for a book and for assistance. I am sure they would be more than happy to help you and will give you a free book Inshallah which is correct. Your intentions are good ! keep it up

serena77
11-19-2011, 05:00 PM
salaams syed,
yes I wish that were an option however no local mosques here so that makes that very very difficult i'm afraid. I would love to have a mosque here as that would at least alleviate several of my problems, however, no mosque and from what i can tell no other like minded people local to me either. :(
serena

.iman.
11-19-2011, 05:26 PM
asalaam alikoum sister

First off, barakAllahu fik for converting, you will find how beautiful this way of life is and may Allah make it easier for you each day. amine.