/* */

PDA

View Full Version : Debates

GuestFellow
07-09-2012, 04:52 PM
:sl:

I'm not really good at debating myself, but what approaches do members take when proving another member is wrong?

I personally do not even bother presenting my own views first. Unless they ask me first, I try to establish what the other member is trying to advocate. I need to find out in detail what the member is trying to say and if it is necessary, ask them for proof. If they have no proof or the evidence in my opinion is not conclusive, then the debate ends for me. No point in engaging in further discussion if the member cannot even sort out his own arguments.

When asked about my views, I will try to gather as many sources as I can to support my arguments. Sometimes one source is sufficient if the evidence speaks for itself.

Login/Register to hide ads. Scroll down for more posts
IbnAbdulHakim
07-09-2012, 05:56 PM
how old are you if I may ask? You sound sensible.

I use to get involved in debates before through no fault of my own, I use to get dragged into them.

But I am terrible at debating so I prefer to just stay out of it lol

GuestFellow
07-09-2012, 09:03 PM
^ Asslamu Aliakum,

I'm 20 years old.

I have seen it on this forum. Some members/people simply do not know how to prove something. When they do present evidence, especially when it requires technical knowledge to understand it, they expect the lay member to develop the techniques to interpret the evidence (which may take years of studying/training) and want them to accept their arguments.

It's like me presenting this piece of Act of Parliament to you and expecting you to understand all of it in a few minutes.

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/ukpga/2006/46/contents

Some members/people don't like it when someone disagrees with them and use insults. This gives an insight to their mentality, especially when they resort to rhetoric. They don't like being wrong.

I personally don't mind being wrong. Not afraid to admit it.